Federal Government

The Federal Government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the United States Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the Federal courts, respectively.

The executive branch of the United States Government is led by President Joe Biden. The President is both the head of state and head of government of the United States of America, as well as Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The President is responsible for the execution and enforcement of the laws created by Congress and has the power to either sign legislation into law or veto bills, although Congress may override a veto with a two-thirds vote of both houses. The Executive Branch conducts diplomacy with other nations and the President has the power to negotiate and sign treaties, which the Senate ratifies. The President can issue executive orders, which direct executive officers or clarify and further existing laws. The President also has the power to extend pardons and clemencies for federal crimes.

Fifteen (15) executive departments — each led by an appointed member of the President’s Cabinet — carry out the day-to-day administration of the federal government. 

The legislative branch of the United States Government is made up of all members of the Senate and the House of Representatives, called Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch is responsible for creating all laws, declaring war, regulating interstate and foreign commerce, and controlling taxing and spending policies. Congress also has the ability to tax and spend public money for the national government, as well as block activity by refusing to authorize public funding for an agency, program or entity.

The United States Senate consists of 100 members - two (2) from each of the 50 states. Specifically, Senators are empowered to conduct impeachment proceedings of high federal officials, are tasked with exercising the power of advice and consent on treaties, and play an important role in the confirmation (or denial) of certain appointments including ambassadors and judicial court justices. New Jersey is currently represented by the following Senators:

  • Senator Cory Booker
    • Committees:
      • Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
      • Senate Committee on the Judiciary
      • Senate Committee on Small Businesses and Entrepreneurship
      • Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry
    • Offices:
      • One Gateway Center, 23rd Floor, Newark, NJ 07102
        • (973) 639-8700
      • One Port Center, 2 Riverside Dr, Suite 505, Camden, NJ 08103
        • (856) 338-8922
      • 717 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510
        • (202) 224-3224
  • Senator Bob Menendez
    • Committees:
      • Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
      • Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs
      • Senate Finance Committee
    • Offices:
      • 210 Hudson St, Harborside 3, Suite 1000, Jersey City, NJ 07311
        • (973) 645-3030
      • 208 White Horse Pike, Suite 18, Barrington, NJ 08007
        • (856) 757-5353
      • 528 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510
        • (202) 224-4744
The United States House of Representatives consists of 435 representatives elected to two-year terms serving the people of a specific congressional district in a state. Each state receives representation in the House in proportion to the size of its population. While the House of Representatives and the Senate together make and pass federal laws, introduce bills and resolutions, offer amendments, and serve on committees, only the House of Representatives may originate revenue bills. The House also initiates impeachment proceedings and passes articles of impeachment (the Senate sits as a court to try the impeachment).

Piscataway Township falls within the 6th Congressional District, which is represented by:

  • Congressman Frank Pallone Jr.
    • Committees / Caucuses:
      • Ranking Member, House Energy and Commerce Committee
      • Co-Chair, Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues
      • Founder, Congressional Caucus on Sri Lanka
      • Congressional Coastal Communities Caucus
      • Congressional Recycling Caucus
    • Offices:
      • 67/69 Church St, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
        • (732) 249-8892
      • 504 Broadway, Long Branch, NJ 07740
        • (732) 521-1140
      • 2107 Rayburn HOB, Washington, DC 20515
        • (202) 225-4671
Members of the Judicial Branch are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The Constitution grants Congress the power to establish courts inferior to the Supreme Court, and to that end Congress has established the United States district courts, which try most federal cases, and 13 United States courts of appeals, which review appealed district court cases.

The Supreme Court of the United States is the highest court in the land and the only part of the federal judiciary specifically required by the Constitution. It currently consists of nine (9) members - one (1) Chief Justice and eight (8) Associate Justices.