Township Historic Sites
Piscataway Historic District & Sites
|Piscataway HISTORIC DISTRICT|
"Road Up Raritan Historic District"
The District was deemed eligible for the New Jersey and National Registers of Historic Places in 1999. It includes nine of the 14 existing historic homes on River Road and is approximately l.2 miles in length.
The list includes:
- John Field House, 625 River Road - circa 1743
- W. Dunham House, (Originally Field House) 649 River Road - circa 1760
- Isaac Onderdonk House, 685 River Road - circa 1750
- Lewis Onderdonk House, 701 River Road - circa 1841
- John Onderdonk House, 730 River Road - circa 1854
- Richard Field, Jr. House, 771 River Road - circa 1832
- Matthias Hendricke Smock House, 851 River Road - circa 1720
- Jonathan Smock House, 871 River Road - circa 1850
- Hendrick Smock House, 899 River road - circa 1865
The D. Runyon House, circa 1780 (previously located at 175 Possumtown Road) and the Fitzrandolph House (previously located on the corner of Possumtown Road and Old New Brunswick Road) have been moved to East Jersey Olde Towne, within Johnson Park at 1050 River Road, Piscataway.
|Piscataway HISTORIC SITES|
Metlar/Bodine House Museum, circa 1728 (a State and National registered historic site is located at 1281 River Road), serves as Piscataway's own historical and cultural museum. The ambiance is attributed to its displays of local memorabilia, including artifacts from prehistoric time to the present. A wide variety of events are conducted at the Museum, including "Afternoon Tea at Raritan Landing", "Brown Bag Supper Lecture Series", "Acoustic Cafe", and an "Archeology Field School" held in the summer months.
For more information, or, to receive the Museum's program of activities and events, call (732) 463-8363. You may also visit the museum on the web at http://www.metlarbodinehousemuseum.org/
Cornelius Low House/Middlesex County Museum, circa 1741, administered by the Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission is located at 1255 River Road. The Georgian home (recently restored) is one of the largest and costliest manor houses in the province of East Jersey. The house is listed in the State and National Registers of Historic Places and cited by Historic American Building Survey of the Library of Congress. Museum displays focus on the rich history of New Jersey. Educational, fun and inviting exhibits, workshops, interactive displays and special events take place throughout the year.
For information, call (732) 745-4177 (voice), (732) 745-3888 (TTY) or visit the website [click here]
East Jersey Olde Towne Village is located at 1050 River Road on a picturesque 12-acre site within Johnson Park. The Village is the largest collection of original, reconstructed and replicated 18th and 19th century structures representing the vernacular architecture typical of farm and merchant communities of central New Jersey. The Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission, in cooperation with the Middlesex County Department of Parks and Recreation administers the Village. Some of the structures include the New Brunswick Barracks/Visitors Center, Runyon House, Six Mile Run House, Vanderveer House, Fitzrandolph House/Storytellers Cottage and Smalleytown Schoolhouse. Village activities include seasonal programming, cultural and historic exhibits, demonstrations, student workshops, folk life presentations, storytelling, outdoor concerts, guided tours and more.
For information, call (732) 745-3030 (voice), (732) 745-3888 (TTY), or, visit the website [click here]
Click to visit Piscataway Township History
Click to visit About Piscataway Township
Click for more information/resources on Piscataway